Get Updates

About 40 members of the National Party's Ohariu branch attended the 2017 AGM in Khandallah Town Hall on Monday, February 13.

Speakers on the night were LNI regional chairman Bernard Cleary, Ohariu-based list MP Brett Hudson, and former Porirua mayor and Mana hopeful Nick Leggett.

Brett told members that National hoped to lead a fourth government after September's general election, this time under party leader Bill English. If it was successful, the party wanted the shape of the government to follow that of the past nine years - that is, with the backing of reliable support partners United Future, Act and the Maori Party.

He would, therefore, be giving his electorate vote to United Future leader Peter Dunne and his party vote to National.

Brett urged National Party supporters to vote likewise.

Bernard told the meeting regional membership was up 4 per cent, the "victory" fund was tracking well, and the party's ethnic membership would be hugely important in September. But, in seeking volunteers to help in the months ahead, he reminded them that he would be working with 11 new campaign chairs, 6-7 new candidates, eight new electorate chairs and three electorates in which no office-holder had any campaign experience.

Ohariu, he said, was headed in the right direction. "If every electorate was the same, I'd have no worries ..."

The meeting unanimously backed a party member's remit asking that the reckless or dangerous-driving-causing-death offence be included in the schedule of crimes to which the "three strikes" legislation applies.

Party members at the AGM also participated in the annual election for several constitutional roles. Results were:

Electorate executive: chairman Carsten Schousboe; deputy chairman John Plunkett; treasurer Graeme Sugden;  secretary Kathryn Adams; and policy chair David Clode.

Share this post